AGENDA, DAY ONE
THURSDAY | SEPTEMBER 24 | 2020

11:00 am - 11:15 am CST • 12:00 pm - 12:15 pm EST 

Conference Welcome

Cindy Rockett, TCCN Board ChairExecutive Director, Crossroads Medical Mission

Mary Kiger, Executive Director, TCCN

11:15 am - 12:00 pm CST • 12:15 pm - 1:00 pm EST 

Plenary Session

"TDH Vision for the Safety Net", Morgan McDonald, MD

12:00 pm - 1:15 pm CST • 1:00 pm - 2:15 pm EST
"Med Talks" with Conference Sponsors and Exhibitors

"PrEPing to End the HIV Epidemic"
Rich MacKinnon, Executive Director, Music City PReP & Mary Kiger, Executive Director, TCCN • Community Relations Director, Music City PReP

We're just 8 months into the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic and we're racing towards a vaccine developed from the dividends of AIDS/HIV research.  And yet, 35 years later, there is still no vaccine for HIV.  Join us for a discussion on the efforts to finally end the HIV pandemic with a daily pill (PrEP) that effectively reduces the risk of transmission by 99%. The medication is a game-changer, it's expensive, and the public is under-educated on its existence.  Learn how a tiny non-profit in Nashville has become one of the largest PrEP providers in the region by making the medication available for free in a stigma-free setting.

Monique Anthony, MPH, CHES | Director, Office of Minority Health and Disparities Elimination Division of Health Disparities, Tennessee Department of Health 

Americares

"BlueCross Healthy Place Program" 

Chelsea Johnson, Director, BCBST

Chelsea Johnson will share an overview of the BlueCross Healthy Place program, both historically and how the program will continue to be relevant in the future. Information will be shared about how to bring a BlueCross Healthy Place to your community!

Cigna

"Zero Suicide & Mental Health Resources"

Tom Starling, CEO, Mental Health America of the MidSouth

Learn about behavioral health resources at your fingertips and the new launch of the Zero Suicide Initiative.  You'll want to participate to learn the warning signs and risk factors associated with suicide, along with how your clinic can implement best practices to prevent suicides.

"Pandemic: Catastrophe or Opportunity"

Marty Hiller, ECHO • Empowering Church Health Outreach, Sr. Clinic Consultant

The COVID-19 pandemic has presented numerous challenges to free and charitable clinics, yet there have also emerged opportunities for the sector to advance their missions.  This talk will explore a number of these opportunities for TCCN members to pursue to strengthen their organizations even during challenging times for the

nation as a whole.

"Helping Large Employers Get Back to Work During a Pandemic"

Kim Beck, Senior Client Services Manager​,  Spoken Here Foreign

Language Services and Dara Wheeler, Chief Marketing Officer, Axiom Medical

A story about using effective communication to serve vulnerable populations and get Tyson Foods' employees back to work during COVID-19 pandemic. Also, we will offer the perspective we gained through the experience and share our thoughts on why it's important to national food supply and the well being of Tennessee community members.

Daniel Jayore, Director of Workforce Development, Tennessee Center for Health Workforce Development (TCWD)

"Target:BP - Mapping a Plan for Management"

Brenda Miller, VP of Health Strategies, Middle Tennessee, American Heart Association

1:15 pm - 1:30 pm CST • 2:15 pm - 2:30 pm EST

15 Minute Break  //  Networking Lounge Open

1:30 pm - 2:15 pm CST • 2:30 pm - 3:15 pm EST 
Breakout Sessions

#1: Health Equity

"Exploring Implicit Bias", Erica Burnett, Burnett Group
 

#2: Service Expansion

"Going Where the Grass is Brownest: A Population-Based Model of Care for Underserved

Populations" Dr. David Bull, Cherokee Health Systems, Clinical Psychologist and Director of Integrative Services, Maynardville Clinic

This presentation will discuss Cherokee Health Systems' population-based integrated model of care, the

underserved populations this model serves, and application of telehealth practice.

#3: Dentistry and COVID-19

"Dentistry in a COVID-19 world – New Policies, Procedures and Tools for Success"  

Rhonda Switzer-Nadasdi, DMD, Chief Executive Officer of Interfaith Dental

This presentation will discuss how Interfaith Dental has adapted it’s care delivery systems in response to COVID-19 and what we learned to take us forward.

#4: Behavioral Health

"The Importance of Understanding Early Life Adversity and Why It Matters in the Long Run"

Melissa McGee, Council on Children's Mental Health Director, Tennessee Commission on Children and Youth

The future prosperity of any society depends on its ability to foster the health and well-being of the next generation. When Tennessee invests wisely in children and families, the next generation will pay that back through a lifetime of productivity and responsible citizenship. This presentation will explore how Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) harm the developing brains and bodies of children compromising the foundation for lifelong health. The ACE research has resulted in child abuse and neglect being acknowledged as a major public health problem and a leading cause of early death. This presentation will also identify community-based, trauma-informed strategies to prevent and mitigate ACEs and build resilience in children, as well as addressing ACEs throughout the lifespan. Understanding the ACE research deepens professional knowledge across sectors and creates a common language for collectively addressing community challenges.

2:15 pm - 2:30 pm CST • 3:15 pm - 3:30 pm EST

15 Minute Break  //  Networking Lounge Open

2:30 pm - 3:00 pm CST • 3:30 pm - 4:00 pm EST 

Special Interest Sessions

#1: Clinic Administration/Practice Management

Rachel Depperschmidt, MPH, Quality & Research Coordinator, Church Health

#2: Fundraising During COVID-19

"How Have You Adapted Fundraising During COVID-19?"
Katie Richards, Chief Development Officer, Siloam Health

#3: Telehealth

"Adopting Telehealth as a New Way of Working"
Jenny Bartlett-Prescott, Chief Operating Officer, Church Health

Fredia Lusk, Executive Director, Community Clinic of Shelbyville and Bedford County

#4: Advocacy

"Advocacy 101", 

Rae Bond, CEO, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Medical Society and Foundation

Jennifer Flanagan, Executive Director, Salvus Center

Advocacy is telling your story in a compelling way that motivates others to support your mission. Usually people think of advocacy in terms of impacting legislation, but it can be a much broader tool to build support for your programs. Advocacy 101 will be a brief overview of advocacy, including a look at how to win legislative and governmental support for your programs!

3:15 pm - 4:00 pm CST • 4:15 pm - 5:00 pm EST

Plenary Session

"2020 Lessons Learned - Free and Charitable Clinics Leadership in Care and Policy"

Nicole Lamoureux, President & CEO, National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics • NAFC

2020 has been the year that has taught Free and Charitable Clinics and Pharmacies how to Plan, Proceed and Pivot. This session will provide an update on the state of health care in the United States, the important role that Free and Charitable Clinics play as members of the safety net and what is on the horizon.

4:00 pm - 4:15 pm CST • 5:00 pm - 5:15 pm EST

Speaker Session // Conference Closing Day 1

The mission of TCCN is to support, educate, and represent non-profit organizations that provide charitable

health care services to low-income, uninsured and underserved Tennesseans.